Egg - Story Snug

EGG by Jonathan Litton and Fhiona Galloway

With an intriguing EGG shaped hole on the cover that gets smaller and smaller, this is an ‘eggs-citing Easter egg-escapade!’ for the littlest of readers.

The Story: Bunny starts the egg hunt then Lamb, Puppy, Kitten, Pony and Bluebird each find an Easter egg. Their eggs start to crack and six fluffy chicks hatch.

On each double spread the easy to read rhyming text introduces the child to a different baby animal. The egg shaped hole gets smaller and smaller so that Bluebird finds the smallest one and when the chicks finally hatch the hole has disappeared. The concept of hatching is introduced very simply, the eggs crack then six little chicks cheep!

Fhiona Galloway’s illustrations are bold, bright and colourful and support the easy to read rhyming text (my daughter has been using this book to practise her reading). I like the spread which shows Puppy’s excitement when he finds his egg underground and my daughter’s favourite spread shows Kitten in a flowerbed (there are several flowers so it’s also a great spread for practising counting).

This is one of the books in Little Tiger Kids My Little World series. It is colourful, chunky, sturdy and perfect for little hands to hold. As well as introducing the animals and the idea of eggs hatching it can also encourage counting and stimulate discussions about colour and patterns.

Age Range: 0 +

Author: Jonathan Litton / Illustrator: Fhiona Galloway

Thank you to Antonia Wilkinson for sending us a review copy of Egg. We love the idea of giving this fun, colourful, rhyming story to a baby as a first Easter present.

Related posts

Enjoyed this? Share or comment.

Leave a Reply

14 responses to “EGG by Jonathan Litton and Fhiona Galloway”

  1. Stacie Theis avatar

    Sounds like such a sweet book for little ones. I love the colorful cover. Thank you for sharing this recommendation on the hop.

    1. Catherine avatar

      It’s a lovely book and a great alternative to chocolate 🙂

  2. C.L. Murphy avatar

    Thanks for sharing such a sweet book for the season! Visiting from the Kid Lit Blog Hop.

    1. Catherine avatar

      You’re welcome! Happy Easter 🙂

  3. Colette B avatar

    Sounds like a really cute book.
    Thanks for sharing your review on #TriedTested this week x

    1. Catherine avatar

      It’s very cute, a lovely Easter book for littlies 🙂

  4. Kim Carberry avatar

    Aww! What a cute book….Perfect for this time of year x

    1. Catherine avatar

      It’s lovely and I love the way that the theme of eggs hatching is conveyed, it’s not a book about chocolate eggs!

  5. Karen Bell avatar

    Sounds like a lovely cute book for little ones 🙂

    1. Catherine avatar

      It’s very cute and the brightly coloured pages are beautifully illustrated.

  6. The Reading Residence avatar

    This does look so cute, lots of fun 🙂

    1. Catherine avatar

      It’s a beautiful board book, a perfect Easter present 🙂

  7. Barbara Ann Mojica avatar

    Cute book……giving this instead of chocolate also saves on dental bills.

    1. Catherine avatar

      This is definitely a healthy EGG for Easter!